This is a post on the direction that the section Employable Skills will be taking.

In the previous post, I’ve talked about what kind of jobs I want. Now that I know where to go, I have to make plans on how to get there. I will not go into the specific things I have to do in order to become a professor/political scientist/policy analyst (The 3Ps). But rather, I will summarize what employable skills I need to acquire/hone for ANY jobs at all.

Definition of Employability:

A set of achievement – skills, understandings and personal attributes – that make individuals more likely to gain employment and be successful in their chosen occupation (Arksey, Harris, and Available, 2007).

In general, what I’ve gotten out of the book: How to Succeed in Your Social Science Degree is that employable / transferable skills are as follow:

1) Management and Organization Skills

2) Communication and Interpersonal Skills

3) Research and Planning Skills

Above are the 3 main ones that I will put under the section of employable skills. There are additional 2 categories/sections called Personal skills and Leadership. 

Personal skills category archives the etc. skills that I incidentally acquire and I feel that are relevant to my employment. 

Leadership is a big category that I feel will have learning points/lessons from anything that I do; thus it is formatted into various points in my life/ foreseeable future.

The blog posts in those categories will be reflection-based rather than explanatory style writing. It will be formal as it represents a part of my portfolio that I will refer my future employer to.

Signing off,

Jackson
Bibliography:

Arksey, H., Harris, D.E. and Available, N. (2007) How to succeed in your social science degree (Sage Study skills series). Los Angeles, Calif. [etc.]: Sage Publications.

Leave a Reply

